Rainy days

Today has been a crummy day, and the weather matched!

This morning we headed out on a walk with Sasha and Mojie, with Mojo in the Ruffwear Webmaster harness. He was uneasy with this at first because of the dangling straps at the side, but then I realised there were loops where you could hook them and he was fine afterwards.

He looked adorable in it!

Unfortunately the weather was so grim he had to get taken back early, but we had a decent walk with Sasha.

We had to break through a wall of cows

Sasha was really good walking past a large number of cows in close proximity though.

rainyday3

I had a bad episode of rage today. It prompted my partner to look into ‘seizure rage’, and he discovered that that’s not actually what I seem to have, but in fact it fits exactly to Episodic Dyscontrol Syndrome. This ties into seizures, and is where the person is powerless to uncontrollable rage. They tend to throw things and lash out violently, and afterwards (because it’s not who they are at all) the sufferer is often crippled with guilt. This is very much me!

EDS tends to be directed at one significant person, and the episodes are triggered by something that might be mildly annoying but the reaction seems to be way OTT. Seizure rage is anger at a much lesser extent, and isn’t usually directed at anyone in particular.

Sasha was amazing during the episode today BTW. It was truly exceptional.

When I was laying down yelling at my partner, she came and nose booped me, then lay next to me staring at me. When I stood up and was lashing out, Sasha jumped up at me to ask for attention / play, then did an auto block (standing in front of me) – this is hugely helpful, it gets my focus off my partner and I’m able to focus on giving Sasha love.

When I turned on my partner again, Sasha left the block to jump at me, before again moving into a block. It was honestly AMAZING.

After the episode was over I was exhausted. That’s when my partner did some research into seizure rage, and we discovered EDS.

We did some training – enjoy Mojo’s cute but fairly pointless trick!

Spud came out and wrestled. Everyone enjoyed puzzle feeders. We played some more.

This evening I tried Spud’s old coat on Mojo (she was wearing this right up until her accident at 5 months) and it fits him! At 14 weeks I’m not sure how much longer he’ll be wearing it, but we’ll see.

This is the only harness he wears totally happily on lead out on walks. The EzyDog, step in and his collar all result in frequent stops and mad itching, and the Ruffwear to a lesser extent. This bomber jacket also meant that he was happier out in the wind and the rain 🙂

rainyday5

Plus, as ever, it was cuteness overload 😉

Once we got back there was time for a little more puppy play / madness / cuteness…

And then it was time for everyone to sleep.

Leave a Reply

