We train outside a supermarket!

I got my medical alert dogtag today ^__^

I have a few medical alert wrist bands, one for bipolar / psychosis with my partner’s number, one that has detailed info on a USB stick, and then this dog tag which simply lists some of my conditions.

medalert

We take safety very seriously and, as any these conditions can result in my wandering, being confused and / or acting weird, it’s good to clearly get across to police or paramedics that I have these illnesses and here’s who to contact ๐Ÿ™‚

Also, guess who has done awesome today?

*

**

***

THIS LITTLE DOG!!

pa3

We’re beginning public access work, which means we’re inching towards taking Pixie into shops and really beginning to work her in public.

Tonight we went to our local supermarket, and my partner went in to buy some shopping whilst we stayed outside and worked. Weeks ago I wouldn’t have been able to go anywhere near a supermarket, and I definitely couldn’t have been left on my own. Woohoo ๐Ÿ™‚

It’s a great place to practice, around the side of this shop.

Through the windows Pixie can see every shopper and staff member, going about their business. To start with Iย rewarded her forย calmly watching, then coming away, and finally sitting and focusing on me whilst all that was going on too.

pa

We did directional work (“this way Pixie”), focus work, impulse control, desensitisation, getting used to sights, sounds, lighting etc.

There was a gridded floor with a plastic bag / sheet stuck in it, flapping noisily in the wind. We did some great counter conditioning with that ๐Ÿ™‚

Lots of focus by the window, by some dropped food, by the trolleys…

pa2

Oooh that focus though!

We ran through some games which were actually awesome training opportunities (because y’know, training is fun ๐Ÿ˜€ ) – we had the ‘follow me’ game where I would run and Pixie had to follow and catch up, earning a click when she got to me.

And we had the sit game, where she had to sit & focus on me, then I would toss a treat a few feet away. Pixie would run to the treat (which I’d always throw towards the biggest distractions) and after eating it she would run back, sit, and repeat.

Both games were obviously instilling great responses inย Pixie – if I move quickly away, follow me. Even in the face of distractions, coming back to mum (me ๐Ÿ˜› ) is always better and more ‘fun’.

So yeah, I consider it a really good outing ๐Ÿ˜€

We also did a fair bit of work around automatic doors, because within the next few days (or week, seizure and mood depending) we will be trying to walk Pixie through an automatic door and do some training in the entrance way of our GP surgery / pharmacy. The pharmacy is often open until 11pm, so I figured it would be a great quiet place to start proper public access training, around the waiting room, on the shiny floors etc.

Oh, this is when ‘daddy’ was paying and Pixie was getting all excited XD

pa1

Um…so yeah. Apologies recently if readers are getting bored of hearing me talk about seizures and doing assistance work with Pixie, it’s just kind of my whole life at the moment haha, and I don’t have energy for much else ๐Ÿ˜€

However if you head on over to Much Loved Mice I did post a lot of baby pics today and it doesn’t get much cuter ๐Ÿ˜‰

Finally, Enzo has turned into SUCH a cuddle cat recently. I’m not sure if it’s because he’s maturing (he’s what, seven months old now?) so that playful kitten energy is fading. He still has mad moments of playing with Pecan, but most the time now he just wants fuss, and love, and to lie close.

Pecan on his part seems to find this incredibly annoying and has been much more vocal recently – I actually had a sudden realisation today – is he sad because Enzo doesn’t play as much anymore, and so Pecan needs more mental stimulation?!

My partner played so much with Pecan today and whaddayaknow we have an extremely happy cat now. It’s been so long since we played with the cats, because pretty much ever since Pecan came home they wanted nothing to do with us and toys, but just wanted each other!!!

Playful Pecan…and the other two XD

pa4

5 thoughts on “We train outside a supermarket!

    • I found mine on ebay and it was only ยฃ4. It did come with ‘history of seizures’ on the front, but if you search “medical alert dog tag” on ebay there are quite a few less than a fiver ๐Ÿ˜€

  1. OMG how adorable is Pixie in her harness! I love it, her patches are looking great too ๐Ÿ˜€ It sounds like it was a great training session, you really do know how to maximise a training session and keep it interesting and Pixie sounds like she did great for something that she had never experienced before! I always love hearing about your training, makes me excited to go train or at least plan or get ideas for training so thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It’s such a cool harness, it’s making me appreciate Ruffwear again as a company haha ๐Ÿ˜› I walked Pixie without it tonight, she was just in her CosyDogs, and there were two people with a dog approaching us on this pitch black lane. Kasper went past no probs (just had to fit in a bit of bragging about him and how far he’s come hahahaha!) but Pixie wasn’t happy and needed picking up in advance. I went to pick her up and was like “noooo, where’s the handy Webmaster harness?!” XD

      Aw thank you so much! I LOVE training my dogs, I love thinking outside the box and trying to see things from their point of view and figuring out what would excite them…I get such a buzz from dog training!! Really, thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

