We <3 training!

Had some awesome training with Pixie these past few days.

She’s done great to say how stressed I’ve been, and I’m getting used to noticing her alerts now. That sounds weird but I’m actually only training her one alert, and she does that by physically nudging me with her nose or paws.

What I’m starting to notice (and REALLY appreciate) is that she’s alerting me much more than that without me realising, with zero training on her part.

She will come over out the blue and sit and stare at me, even stopping playing with toys to come sit and stare. When I take note, I’ll find my head feels weird or I’m feeling sad / anxious. She’s done this several times today, one time I was watching a YT that was making me feel angry – Pixie came over and just sat and stared. I burst out laughing and turned the video off ๐Ÿ˜€

She was alerting here, I was feeling stressed and sad…amazing what a dog recognising this and then sitting for lots of cuddles can do to help!

We’ve had some huge successes on walks.

She’s becoming a whiz at night walks now. Here she is doing focus work on our main road which is currently closed. The roadworks used to freak her out, she used ย to refuse to walk by the barricades ๐Ÿ™‚

She’s starting to be able to walk in close proximity to peopleย whilst keeping focus on me now, which is incredible. Very very proud ๐Ÿ™‚

And one of the best things, she’s starting to feel totally comfortable climbing onto my lap when cued out on walks. This can be when I’m sitting down or kneeling, and it’s awesome because it means I can pick her up with zero stress on her part!!!ย Finally ^__^

Today we had a bloody amazing walk; going up a public footpath and the house next to it had left their bloody GSD roaming the property unsupervised. Uuuuugh.

The dog approached us barking, which was just great as Pixie is a) still gaining confidence around other dogs and b) very much still learning to be calm around them and ignore them. So this dog we didn’t even know was there exploded with barking and started coming towards us – we all jumped!!

I told my partner to body block as best he could and lead Pixie away, then knelt on the ground. The dog was about 12ft away and Pixie was entirely focused on it when I gave her the cue to come on my lap –ย she did it straight away โค

I was amazed, and it made picking her up to avoid the GSD such a breeze ๐Ÿ™‚

Here she is being oh so patient while I put chocolate on her head hahahaha!

In the house training is going well too. Here’s an updated video of us working on some stuffs…really proud of her stay and under!

Cuddle pics!! โค

justis1

justis

Finally Pixie’s vest has been dispatched from the seller in America! I can’t wait for it to get here, hope it fits ๐Ÿ˜€

Oh oh, finally finally…

No seizures for three days!!

w00t w00t XD

2 thoughts on “We <3 training!

    • Thank you ๐Ÿ˜€ I had a seizure today but it didn’t last very long and wasn’t too bad, and I’m fighting off the resulting tiredness, so hopefully today will be another good one ^_^

Leave a Reply

