Pixie training, week 1

I’ve stepped up the training with Pixie for about 1-1.5 weeks now, so here’s how we’re doing πŸ™‚

Pixie’s Cues

  1. Sit
  2. Touch
  3. Come
  4. Leave it
  5. Place (mat)
  6. See me (eye contact)
  7. Stay
  8. Right up (get into position)
  9. Under
  10. Beg
  11. Up
  12. Off
  13. Tall (jump vertically)
  14. Feet (two feet up on an object)

We also started working on interrupting behaviours today too.

Before this week she only knew sit, touch and recall, so we’re doing good πŸ˜€

Some of our mat work (if I’ve posted this already I’m sorry):

pixtraining7

And in the video below we work on a bit of everything.

I’ve been doing a lot of training because I LOVE working with her, and because our end goal excites me so much. It’s also necessary to tire Pixie atm as I haven’t been able to give her walks these past few days…so we’ve done a lot of training when I’m able, and we really enjoy it πŸ™‚

I’m going to be adding a page just about Pixie’s training in terms of helping my with my illness soon, so that’ll be fun to watch progress πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Pixie training, week 1

    • Thanks!! She’s on a real roll atm I’m uber impressed with her…not only has she picked some tricks up in literally less than a minute, but she stuns me with her progress everyday – her stay is probably better than Rey’s in 4 days of training (damn his lack of patience!!) πŸ™‚

      • Maybe she’s making up for the lost time of not using her grey matter or being enriched! She really does seem sharp and it’s great now that she’s getting to show you that and getting the eureka moments πŸ™‚

      • Hahaha! I like that idea πŸ™‚

        I love her calmness with training too. I’m used to dogs flinging themselves about madly and trying to predict what I’m going to ask for next, so it’s nice to have a more happy-laid-back pup πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

