Our best day :)

I’ve been struggling for a while with bipolar shiz, mainly lack of energy, unpredictable mood and, as ever, psychosis.

Depending on what the psychosis is, it can be either hard to function, concentrate, or not feel sad and scared. It’s a battle to keep doing my best for my pets and partner whilst all this is going on, but I feel like we’ve both done really well this past week.

Today the clouds parted and we had a good day. My mood was better and the psychosis wasn’t so loud or demanding ^__^

It started with me having Rey and Pixie together and managing them easily on my own. Then we did our beautiful countryside walk with Pixie and had the best time ever, and when we got back we left her forΒ 45 minutes!!

When we watched the footage back, we saw for the last 25 minutes she was snuggled up asleep on the chair with Pecan by her side πŸ™‚ ❀

Here are some photos from our beautiful walk.

In the second field we stumbled around for 15-20 minutes looking for the two footpaths which should be there (with Pixie mostly in the pupoose due to long grass and thistles!) and couldn’t find them at all XD

I mean, there’s supposed to be a path around here?!

bestday3bestday4

Instead of making a loop of the walk via one of the invisible footpaths,Β we climbed to the top of a hill where the grass was drier, and we just chilled there for 20 minutes.

Pixie got to go have fun off lead, and it was just really lovely πŸ™‚

bestday7

“Dad just give up, come sit with us instead!”

IΒ LOVE this photo, she’s in such better condition mentally and physically now! πŸ™‚

bestday11

Pixie had a GREAT time, as you’ll see in the video, and it’s worth remembering how huge her issues were just a few weeks ago. In particular…

  • She was very scared of my partner. 4 Β weeks in he could stroke her when she approached him, although she wasn’t 100% comfortable, and she would sleep on his lap if he was in the arm chair. He couldn’t initiate contact, and there were many times she would run and bark at him.

Now he gets this πŸ˜€

bestday12

  • She didn’t enjoy walks – walks were a necessary evil so she could go to the toilet outdoors. She had a safe zone with a few routes all within 10 minutes of our house (some she liked more than others), and it would take 15 minutes to get somewhere just a few minutes’ walk from our house.

And now we have this dog who really appreciates her walks, and is going ‘off lead’ more and more in safe areas,

She bounds, she plays, she races around madly. Yesterday she played and had the time of her life whilst two strangers (to her) sat and watched. Today she easily completed – and ENJOYED! – Β a 50 minute walk πŸ™‚

Huge, huge steps.

(skip to 0.28 for start of video footage!)

More days like this please world, more days like this ^__^

5 thoughts on “Our best day :)

  1. Something tells me you will receive a lot of healing just by healing Pixie and by being loved and accepted as you are. Pets know who we really are inside. They may help you get stronger. Thanks for these delightful tales!! Don’t stop!!

    • It’s been absolutely incredible having her so far, and as ever my pets are fantastic to focus on when I’m not feeling very well – in terms of cuddles and love, but also training them and working on their fears helps me feel useful too πŸ˜€

      And thank you, I love writing my blogs and really appreciate everyone that reads them πŸ™‚

    • Completely agree, always love hearing about Pixie’s progress it never fails to bring a smile to my face! it’s seriously so wonderful how you have changed her total world around.<3

      • Aww thank you *so* much πŸ™‚ ❀ I am so excited about every little bit of progress Pixie makes, and even my partner doesn't really find it interesting to talk about, so I love being able to blog about her XD

        This might sound weird but I really do consider you a friend now haha and whenever something funny or cool happens that is dog- or pet-related, you're the first person I think of hahaha…I don't know any people irl that know anything are interested in dogs or pets, so it's good to have someone other than my partner to talk about dog things with πŸ˜€

      • It’s honestly so great to read about her progress so keep on blogging every little bit πŸ™‚
        Hehe that’s not weird at all, I think the same of you, it’s very much the same scenario for me that I know people who like pets etc but never to the same extent that I am so I try to hold back my total and utter obsession haha so it’s great just to totally geek out with someone who gets it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

