First ferret fun!

Firstly I’d just like to say,ย holy shit do ferret bites hurt!!!

Fabian is 11 weeks old, so just like a puppy, he nips. Unfortunately he seems to be a harder nipper than literally any other ferret I’ve read about, and every time he nipped in play he either latched on or broke the skin. Oh good!

I’m not talking gushing blood, but there was bruising and blood on the surface of the skin. Fun times ๐Ÿ˜‰

Regardless of the fact I was bitten numerous times, before I played with him I wasn’t anyway near as enamoured as I expected myself to be…after spending over half an hour with him, I am head over heels in love! ^__^

He is just great! Full of mischief and play; he’s like a puppy, kitten and rat all rolled into one.

For his first time out we set up a small penned area around his cage, and simply left the door open for him to come out when he wanted.

He was so much fun to play with. We did flirt pole-esque play with him tugging, chasing and grabbing a dog toy. He loves rolling balls, diving into bundles of paper, flinging himself madly in tents and hammocks, and climbing all over me ๐Ÿ™‚

ferretfun3

ferretfun1

Watching him bound about, wrestle with toys, and do the play dance was adorable ๐Ÿ™‚

My crotch was his favourite place to cuddle bwahahaha

I did actually try to keep my fingers away from him once I realised how bad his bite inhibition was, but he still got me good a few times.

I’ve contacted a few experienced ferret-people to get their advice, because whilst I know it’s normal for an excited young ferret to nip, drawing blood every time is not something I can just sit and ignore how you normally would with a nipping ferret ๐Ÿ˜›

Obviously scruffing, squirting with water, and tapping / smacking are all no-no’s.

The best ideas I’ve read so far (because there’s such little ferret info on the ‘net, and a lot of it’s old school too) says covering your fingers in something the ferret finds gross can help, and teach them to nip toys. OR teach them to nip toys, and partner hands up with something really tasty, such as chicken babyfood. The aim is they can gently lick your fingers.

I feel the last method sounds best, but I need something else in the meantime as atm I’m having to wear gloves just in case he gets past the toy and anywhere near my fingers!!!

We carried out our cage modifications today, which he loooooves!!!

The cage is now 100cm long, 54cm wide, and 155cm tall. It could do with a few more toys, but after our amazon Prime delivery today it’s looking a lot better.

He has a tent on the top floor, some snuggle areas, a wooden perch to chew, a plastic large parrot toy, and a coconut shell chew toy.

The middle tierย has a hammock, ladder, level and a cardboard tray that I’ve put several cat balls in – he LOVES these!!

fabian11

And the bottom tier has a few levels, a wooden log tunnel, and will also be where his litter tray is.ferretfun6

And to give you a better idea of size, here is lil’ Pixie by the cage, checking out the new arrival ๐Ÿ˜€

fabian10

Tomorrow we have 100 ball-pit plastic balls arriving. I’ve heard ferrets love these, and I might just turn the entire bottom tier into a ball pit hahaha!

2 thoughts on “First ferret fun!

  1. I love your setup for him – plenty of room to explore and play ๐Ÿ™‚ I really hope he can be trained out of his nipping quickly cause that sounds sore as hell! The photos of him are adorable though like – me? bite? no I’m way too cute and innocent haha I can’t wait to see his reaction to the ball pit ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Thanks ๐Ÿ˜€ Yeah, I am not looking forward to getting nipped again, my hands were throbbing for 12 hours XD

      The advice so far has been to encourage him to nip toys, praise when he doesn’t bite hands, and not reinforce when he does bite. The person I spoke with said no gloves and don’t let yourself get scared of him…but it’s easier said than done!!

      I’m not scared of *him* because I know he’s just playing, but it’s hard not to get nervous when he comes near my hands because these bites bloody hurt!! I’d rather encourage him to nip toys, wear gloves and praise when he doesn’t bite hands, and freeze / leave when he bites the gloves. I’ll also be feeding treats from a spoon, with the aim of feeding from hands. Then after a few days I can try doing the above minus the gloves, but for now I feel like I need to wear the gloves so I’m not just sitting there freaking out every time he comes near me XD

      He is insanely adorable though. Watching him tumble about and play is literally the cutest thing ever, and I can’t wait until he learns not to bite my skin and we can enjoy cuddles ^__^

      I’m so excited for the ball pit too!!

Leave a Reply

