Pecan makes friends with everyone

I’m combining two posts today, so I’m sorry if it gets lengthy πŸ˜‰

Firstly, I’d like to introduce you to Tristan!

Tristan is a young male rabbit that was taken in by a pet shop owner who’s very passionate about animals (he currently has a stray mother cat and her kittens living in the back room of his shop, and goes in every night at midnight to feed them!).

Tristan’s story is that he was bred, but him and two other brothers didn’t sell, so the breeder asked the pet shop to take them off his hands.

We went in the pet shop ‘just to look’ at the rabbits (ie. my partner said we were looking and I was hoping we’d fall in love with one!!), and Tristan and his brothers were sooo cute we just had to bring one home.

Not only were they really beautiful, but incredibly friendly and confident too. How can you say no?!

tristan2

I let my partner pick Tristan, and by god am I glad I did because Tristan is AMAZING!!

When we first got home with him we discovered our rescue rats had escaped as somehow an entire chunk of cage base snapped off – Β not chewed, just a huge split and gaping crack. The rats were in the top of the quail pen, using an old level as a hammock area!!!!

I opened Tristan’s box and just let him chill there whilst we sorted the rats out Β – the boys were amazing to say how scared they are btw, and the quail didn’t mind at all!

Tristan was awesome πŸ™‚ He relaxed, he ate some veggies, and he even accepted strokes!

tristan

Once the rats were safely in another cage, we sorted Tristan’s crate out and transferred him over.

He was immediately happy, curious and confident, and when I filled his hay toy and food bowl he was already thinking of coming out πŸ™‚

I introduced Pecan and Tristan right away, because they were both very curious and comfortable around each other. Here they are on Tristan’s first day home:

I had a few minor concerns about Pecan, but the intro went AWESOME, and they both did great with each other. No need to be worried at all!

We left Tristan to settle and then today he came out for the first time – again, very confident and happy and really enjoying fuss πŸ™‚

Pics, and video footage at the end!

Any breed guesses for Tristan, rabbit people?

He’s insanely pretty, friendly, small (but young too), up eared, and has a really long tail!!! Seal point pattern, dark grey / brown on ginger, and short fur.

His fur is smooth and soft, but not velvety like a Rex, and he’s too big and long necked / faced for Netherland – might be some in him though?!

And next up:

Day 3 of kitten introduction!

Today has been the best day by faaar πŸ˜€

Not only has there been absolutely no hissing or growling for twoΒ days now, but the boys are taking it in turns to chase and pounce each other, they’re disengaging wonderfully, and they’re really having fun together!

Best buds by this point…Pecan has two bro’s now XD

day3

Enzo watches Pecan eat from the brown cat tree

Neither of the boys are very graceful XD

day34

day33

The boys have spent the last three hours together, and I’ve only had to interrupt / calm EnzoΒ twice, and I’m probably being fussier than I need to be.

When we split them up for 20 minutes to clean out pet cages earlier, they were trying to get to each other!

They really love whizzing out the room, around the hallway, and then charging back in πŸ™‚

Having a brother has been great for Enzo ^__^

9 thoughts on “Pecan makes friends with everyone

  1. Ahh such an exciting post! I don’t know where to start! Tristan is gorgeous, I have no idea what breed he is except adorable πŸ™‚ I love his little dark muzzle? snout? lol I honestly can’t believe how well Pecan and him got along, it’s almost like a Disney film haha
    Enzo and Pecan are such a wee pair now, definitely some brotherly love forming fast there πŸ™‚
    Seriously so glad that your rats and quail were okay though!

    • Thanks! There’s been too many exciting things to post about this weekend haha, it was so hard yesterday deciding not to post about Tristan, but I wanted to wait and see if him and Pecan would get on better the next day. Made for some adorable pics and footage πŸ˜€

      I have no idea how big Tristan will be because I don’t know his age, but he seems very small to me…most young bunnies we’ve had haven’t been so small! And his little dark coloured nose and ears are so cuuute ^__^

      I couldn’t believe Pecan…or Tristan! Tristan is very confident now and follows Pecan about, and didn’t care at all when Pecan jumped on his back earlier hahaha. Enzo has seen Tristan briefly (Enzo prefers the cat room upstairs) and he wasn’t so interested in Tristan, but with Pecan and the bun it really is like a Disney love story XD

      Yes, the kitty boys are definitely improving every single day, it won’t be long now until we leave them together 24/7…we were going to do it today but Enzo gets a little wound up and finds it hard to wind down and rest, and I don’t want him over-doing it.

      I know, I couldn’t believe it about the rats!!!! My partner came downstairs and said “oh, the rats have escaped, guess where they are?”, so I thought they were just behind their cage somewhere…then he said “they’re in the quail cage!” and my mouth just dropped!!!! He caught both of them within 20 minutes though, which I thought was really impressive a) when they were near the quail, and b) when the rats are terrified of EVERYTHING!

  2. Mum doesn’t think he’s any breed in particular and colouring wise he’d be described as a sooty fawn πŸ™‚
    Love the pics of the kittens too, they’re so cute playing together

    • Is his patterning similar to a seal point, with the dark nose and ears? Himalayan-esque style? I looove bunnies and mice with dark nose tips ❀

      Do you think he's small? I know it's hard to say as we don't know how old he is, but he seems small to me…one brother looked just like him, and the other was white with eyeliner-style eyes and speckles…like a longer limbed Hotot with added specks!

      The kitty boys are doing great, I'm super impressed with them both πŸ™‚

    • Ah, my mum just suggested the breed English Spot, and not only does that match Tristen’s body shape, but that’s what I was trying to describe his brother as too, his brother looked like an English Spot!!

      I wonder if he’s half that cross something?! πŸ˜€

      • It is seal pointing but the whole colour and points is known as sooty fawn πŸ™‚ not sure on the English Spot – it’s possibly in there somewhere but he’s too pointy for it to be the bulk of his genes πŸ™‚

  3. Wonderful!!! It’s great to see Pecan and Tristan together! They’ll both grow up friends – not even realizing one is predator and the other prey!! Enzo and Pecan are adorable together! You’ve got quite the little family!!

    • It’s so funny, I’m certain Tristan thinks he’s a kitten now πŸ™‚

      Pecan is very different around our pets to Enzo. It’s not that Enzo is extremely predatory, because he’s not, but he watches them a lot and does chase and paw at them. Normal cat stuff. Pecan on the other hand is softer, and doesn’t show any of that sort of interest in the smaller pets…he watches them, but interacts with them happily. Softy cat πŸ˜›

      I won’t be trusting either of them around the tiny rodents or birds of course, but certainly Tristan and possibly Pecan with the chins πŸ™‚

      Oh yes, the boys are getting on great! Both seem very equally matched now and their antics make me laugh. Couldn’t be happier πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Twinny | Scarlybobs' Blog

Leave a Reply

