Another kitten update

This time a happier one πŸ™‚

If you’ve missed the huge scare with Enzo, please read the previous post, as it explains all about his condition and what it means for us.

After the last post, I was utterly broken, and thought we had to either give Enzo back to the place we adopted him from, or put him through surgery that could well kill him.

We were distraught and, after an already really really bad day (see the post before the last one!) we were struggling a lot.

Then my good friend who I met through blogging left a comment that changed everything. She said that if she were in this situation with one of her cats, she wouldn’t put them through traumatic surgery but would keep them at home, give them the best life possible, and when the time came help them cross the rainbow bridge.

It could be weeks, months, or years…but all that matters is he is loved.

Call me an idiot (I’m an idiot) but this never occurred to me.

I felt an immediate, overwhelming sense of joy, and told my partner – why can’t we just keep Enzo and love him for however long we have him?! For some reason this really freaked my partner out (he struggles when we’ve made a decision and then go back on it; he has to work through all the positives, negatives etc).

After talking it through we immediately phoned our vet and asked her opinion.Β She said it sounded like a great idea!

I burst into happy tears because we could keep Enzo, and we’re just gonna love him and appreciate him for all that he is. I don’t care if we don’t have him long, he’s an absolutely amazing little kitty and I absolutely adore him.

Today has had several other horrific things happen, and although I’m exhausted and have a stress headache…I’m really happy about Enzo. I love this kitten more than I EVER thought possible.

What a day….

Here are some photos where you can kinda see the indentation. It’s the groove at the left (his right) paw. See how it’s drawn in?

ilovehim

Kinda hard to get an accurate photo of it.

Please cross your fingers that our Kitty Snipper has a long future with us, and in the meantime here are some photos from today of our big boy – wearing his very first collar!

Doesn’t he look adorable?! Even on the smallest setting the collar was a little too big though haha πŸ™‚

And these were all taken since the vet appt.

ilovehim4

❀ ❀ ❀

22 thoughts on “Another kitten update

    • No. We do do a little fostering, usually with smaller rodents (eg. hamsters, mice) and we do volunteer at an actual rescue…but nope, we don’t own a rescue or anything.

      • Aw thanks πŸ™‚ We don’t do much really…and oh yes, we would also love to own a rescue! We always wanted to open a petting farm type thing with rescue animals, or somewhere to educate the public about animals’ needs πŸ™‚

      • I’ve heard shelters and rescues are overflowing with Pit Bulls in America 😦

        We’ve never had a dog fight, ever. Not even a scuffle. Our two male dogs now, they don’t roam together in the same room yet – introductions were messed up when Raiden was a puppy, and then with all the other things that went on and alongside Rey’s puppy excitement, we couldn’t do a speedy intro.

        At one year old he is much more mature and a lot calmer. They’re at the point now where they can be on either side of a barrier with each other and they’re fine, they can do tricks around each other etc. There was never any aggression between them though, and we could speed the intro up but we aren’t in much of a rush.

        Our oldest dog is a serious resource guarder (especially from other dogs) yet with careful management this has never been an issue.

        We’ve also had a lot of practice with crate and rotate, so keeping dogs separate from each other, exercised and happy doesn’t seem like a difficulty anymore.

      • Thank You! That helps a lot. We have a rescue Pit that comes from a bad past, she’s aggressive towards other dogs but has never “attacked” a dog. She’s food aggressive and toy aggressive, she’s 5 now. We really want to get another rescue but think maybe get a new house so Hazels smell (our pit) isn’t all over the house. Maybe separate rooms or something too!thanks

      • Kasper has a few similar issues, he resource guards pretty much anything from other dogs (even scraps of cardboard or fluff) but as ever, with careful management we’ve never had an issue.

        As I said our boys are kept separate now – not for aggression, but because Kasper’s a grumpy fool and if Rey even so much as play bowed at him, Kasper would tell him off! We keep them totally separate and it’s honestly so easy, especially now they can stay calm on opposite sides of a barrier. Ultimately though we do want to get to the stage where they are used to being calm in the same room together, and then eventually Kasper might open up to play.

        Baby gates are good for keeping dogs separate, but if either dog is a jumper you can also buy puppy / rabbit playpens that are different heights, and obviously they’re useful because you can create barriers around furniture, separate rooms etc. We have 120cm tall sections of pen and we use them for all sorts; we currently have three sections utilised as part of a chinchilla cage πŸ˜€

      • Great! Thank you! I’ll definitely show my lady this and see what she thinks about doing some kind of barrier! I think we would be able to carefully do this, we care too much about animals, hence why we haven’t gotten another yet ( didn’t want anything to happen with it and Hazel) but thanks again!

  1. I am caught up, and I’m so sorry about Enzo, but so happy that you’re going to keep him and love him and give him the best possible life. He’s lucky he ended up in such a loving home!

    • Thank you so much πŸ™‚ It was a pretty huge blow – this being my first cat, to be told he had such a serious health condition was really difficult to wrap my head around…but we love him to bits, and we could not have found a better kitty πŸ™‚

      My partner’s talking about getting Enzo a kitty ‘brother’, but I want to talk to our vet first in case the stress or anything could affect his condition. I can see the positives – Enzo would always have company and comfort even while we were out or sleeping – but I just want to do more research first.

      • Introducing another cat while they are both young will be easier than when they’re older, stubborn, and more set in their ways ;). It’s possible! We introduced TWO dogs to our kitties! But it’s easier for them to adjust when they’re younger. Just something to keep in mind!

      • I’ve read a lot about that, and I would want my first time intro’ing cats to be as easy as possible haha…which makes me want to do it sooner rather than later (and our vets is currently fostering some ADORABLE kittens that are almost old enough to go to their new homes) but it just scares me I think…and I’m not sure how possible it will be to neuter Enzo when he is older, or even if he will be around long enough for that to be a worry…I mean I hope he is, but if he is an adult un-neutered cat, I don’t know how a neutered other cat would be living in the house with him…aagh!

        I could phone the vets and ask if they think neutering would be an issue, but I’m concerned we’d just get told “oh no he’ll be fine”, as they’ve already pushed for an immediate x-ray even though he’s tiny and they’re high risk to such young kittens.

        There’s a lot of unknowns with me and cats; my partner’s ready to bring another kitten home so Enzo has 24/7 company and I’m just here gathering worries that are months and months into the future XD

      • But considering all those things will help you make the best decision for everyone! You’ll figure it out. You two always do πŸ™‚

    • Thanks πŸ™‚

      It’s nice to hear positive thoughts about adding a second kitten. I’m worried that we might not be able to neuter Enzo when he is older (there’s no saying how he will be doing medically) and I don’t know if an un-neutered cat can live with an intact cat.

      I don’t know if we should just adopt another kitten, and leave future concerns to be decided in the future…or if we should play it safe. I do think Enzo could benefit from another kitty, and my partner too (and let’s face it, I’d love to have another kitten around!)…but it just scares me.

      From what I have read male-male or male-female pairings tend to work best (when both cats are neutered), do you recommend one pairing over the other?

      Sorry to be asking you questions all the time. I tend to fret over my fur-kids, and it’s weird having basically no knowledge of cat ownership πŸ™‚

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ He’s doing SO well now…in fact he’s just knocked over a bottle of ketchup from the table and launched it at our foster dog hahaha!

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ He is 17 weeks old now, loving life and thriving! He adores his younger brother and loves leaping madly at things and climbing his cat trees. Very happy, beautiful boy πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

