Enzo’s first week: cute kitten alert

WARNING: pic heavy post!

Enzo’s been here a while now, and he’s settling in better than I could ever have hoped for πŸ™‚

I’ll probably do a more in-depth blog at some point about cat ownership, and especially how I’ve find it differs from dog ownership, but for now here are some adorable photos that show his progression from scaredy cat to snug-bug!

Although Enzo came out of his carrier immediately, the first day was a very scary time for him!

After a brief look around his new room, with his body slunk low to the ground and his eyes wiiiide open, Enzo busied himself hiding in the smallest possible places.

Gradually his terror diminished, but for those first few days we pretty much left him alone.

I hand fed him wet food to make sure he was eating. I would start by dropping a blob of wet food about 15cm away from him, wherever he was hiding, and then as he grew in confidence he would eat from my fingertips, even on the very first day.

Enzo proved to have a fantastic ability for squeezing in extremely small spaces.

Because he was the runt of the litter (meaning that at 12 weeks old he was the size of an 8 week old kitten) he could fit just about anywhere, and several times when we thought we’d blocked underneath the footstool we found him under there, and had to fish him out so he wasn’t stuck!

His first night with us was very traumatic.

My partner went into his room in the morning and could hear him mewling, which wasn’t surprising as he certainly was a vocal kitty those first few days home.

It wasn’t until an hour later my partner realised Enzo had gotten himself stuck between the side of the radiator and the wall!!! Not the back of the radiator, which we had blocked for safety, but THE SIDE!

stuckcat

My partner had to hold Enzo’s bumΒ in one hand whilst carefully shoving him all the way up to the top of the radiator. Then he had to grab hold of his upper body and carefully extract him. Not exactly a great start to their realationship XD

By the third day it was apparent that Enzo is a mummy’s boy ^__^

I’d put a lot of effort into him – hand feeding, respecting his space, rolling toys to him, and building up to play. On the third day I got my first proper strokes, purring and kitten feet padding! ❀

From there on it was plain sailing, and me and Enzo were truly in love with each other.

We had regular fuss sessions several times a day, and everyday I learnt more and more what he liked and disliked – he doesn’t like having the whole of his head stroked, but there are areas that he loves; between the ears, side of the head, and more recently under his chin.

He’s started purring as soon as I start stroking him. He pads his feet continuously and today, for the first time ever, he’s started climbing all over me and slept on me a few times.

I’m not sure if that’s thanks to some of the training we’ve been doing, it’d be cool if it was πŸ™‚

bestcat1

bestcat2

Anytime I’m in the cat room now, Enzo is with me. If I’m about and he’s tired, he sleeps next to me every time. Most times when we come upstairs, he’ll come out and see us almost immediately.

bestcat

His relationship with my partner is slowly getting better.

After the radiator fiasco my partner didn’t do much with Enzo, and so it was natural that Enzo gravitated to me. Today my partner’s really kicked it up a notch; he’s been playing with Enzo and he’s been the one to prepare most his meals.

Interestingly this has already had a huge affect, not just on how Enzo interacts with my partner but on Kitty’s overall confidence.

When my partner was in the room Enzo used to keep to the side furthest away, and play with me or himself. Today however he was swaggering all around the room haha, walking right up to my partner and everything! My partner even got a few strokes in!

I’m secretly hoping Enzo will always be a mummy’s boy, but of course I’d love it if he adored my partner too πŸ˜‰

The most hilarious thing today was when he was sleeping on my lap upside down…whenever I’d look down at him he’d open his big eyes and just peer up at me, totally content ❀

Pretty damn adorable πŸ™‚

As I type this he has his bottom pushed against my right leg, and is sprawled out on his side sleeping deeply ❀

Already Enzo has total control of my heart. Nothing he does can annoy me, he’s even more immune than a puppy – he can claw my arm, leap onto the back of my laptop as if it’s a cat tree, and sprawl anywhere he wants, and I can’t get even a little bit angry with him.

For over half an hour he was sprawled over my laptop today, and all I could say to him was “aw, you are such a cute kitty!”

Can you tell he’s about doubled in size, too? He’s a big boy now!

Enzo has surpassed what I had even hoped for in a cat.

He is getting increasingly snuggly; if I’m in the room, he’s sleeping smushed up to me – if I’m not he doesn’t mind though, and just takes himself off to the green rabbit igloo.

Have I mentioned how much he LOVES his cat crate btw?!

bestcat10

He loves to play with us, but once he’s decided our play is dull he will happily entertain himself for hours. And watching him play is almost as good as playing with him πŸ˜‰

bestcat7

So there you have it; my Kitty Snipper is the best cat in the world πŸ˜‰

I mean, just look at him, hahaha!

bestcat14

We’ll be letting him out of the cat room soon to explore the rest of his domain. Not sure when just yet, he’s especially happy in here at the moment πŸ˜€

I’ll get some training footage up fairly soon, when you can actually tell Enzo has learnt something haha. For now here are some non-training clips from day 1 to now πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Enzo’s first week: cute kitten alert

    • Totally. Can I ask, do you have any experience with cats / kittens with deformed rib cages? I think Enzo has either the flat kitten one (I’m hoping for that) or the pect one, I don’t remember the names it’s almost 3am and I’m exhausted…we’re taking him to the vets tomorrow but I know you have lots of kitty experience so just wondering.

    • I thought it was a pooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo-

    • Ah sorry, kitten attack πŸ™‚

      I thought it was a long shot, but worth asking. I’m glad you haven’t had to deal with it though.

Leave a Reply

