Dog nail trim progress

I’m sorry if these posts bore you, but I’m really proud of our progress ^__^

As many of you know I have been trying to countercondition Kasper to having his nails trimmed since he was a few years old, so for almost four years now.

Finally – FINALLY! – we are making such amazing progress, and we’re gradually pushing the length of his talons back 😀

Here are some photos from the start of our journey:

As you can see, Kasper had seriously long nails, and they’re incredibly thick too – most clippers really struggle to cut through the black nails.

I did a lot of research into cutting a dog’s nails, and we spent months making the process , if not exactly enjoyable for Kasper, then one he was comfortable with.

We made some progress.

And the more I practiced using nail clippers, the less scary it became…now I look forward to the procedure. Not only is it therapeutic for me but it’s almost a form of art haha, I love it!

Here are some photos from today, please bear in mind how his nails started off 🙂

The white nails here had just been freshly clipped, the black nail is untouched. (I always leave the black nails a little longer, I HATE that I can’t see the quick!!)

goodnails2

All nails done on this paw!

I’ve also got Kasper to the point where I can shave the fur on his paws (single handedly might I add!), and this makes clipping his nails much easier 🙂

goodnails3

A before and an after 🙂

And Raiden continues to rock the scratch board whilst we work on paw handling and patience…here’s some pics of his nails today

goodnails5

Don’t you just love these dinky little paws?? ❤

And photos / video of the actual scratch board part!

scratchboard

scratchboard1

The actual scratching part is only about 30 seconds long in this video.

We have him scratch at the board for about 5-10 seconds at a time, and usually get him to do this three times in a row. We do this a few times a week.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Dog nail trim progress

  1. Good work! I hope the process get easier and easier as time goes on. Trimming Phins nails was something I never mastered. When I first tried to show him the clippers, all he wanted to do was chew them. He was so squirmy too, which was hard since it is just me. A few weeks later, with peanut butter in hand, I was able to get one nail trimmed. No complaints from the dog. When I tried to do the next nail, he whined and carried on like I was hurting him. So now I just file his nails with a thicker human nail file. He gets loads of treats and deals with it. Occasionally I take him to a shop to let the pros do it with a dremel. His dew claws are especially hard to file down. Luckily his back paws stay short from walking, so it’s just the front paws I have to work on. They get pointy cause he pulls half the time when walking. Still working on that. There is always something!

    • Yeah, I imagine the process with Kasper would have been MUCH harder if I didn’t have a second person to feed a nice constant stream of treats!!

      I started with filing Kasper’s nails, because he was way less arsed by the file than when I tried to use clippers on him. We used a hardware file and actually saw really good progress, it only took a few minutes to file each nail. In fact I still mostly file the black nails because they scare me!!

      I do like being able to use the clippers though 🙂

      It took years of “look how great the clippers are” before I could use them on him – I’d get him to ‘touch’ them, put his paws on them, handle his paws a ton, touch his paws with the clippers etc…it was slow going, but I didn’t push it or work on it as much as I should have either. We got there though!

      Raiden has really sharp nails. I don’t know if it’s because his nails are so much smaller / thinner than Kasper’s, but even when they’re short they scratch. Can’t wait until I’m able to file them to nice little nubs XD

Leave a Reply

