Tattoo & tidying!

Some months back a friend I met through the blog introduced me to a Maori phrase:

Kia Kaha

It became somewhat of a mantra to me and my partner – whenever I was struggling I would say it to myself, and if both of us were struggling we would say it to each other. It wasn’t until I wrote it on my hand a few times, so I could see it as a visual reminder, that I had a thought – why not get it tattooed there?

I had it tattooed a week ago. It took less than two minutes and is now virtually fully healed. Every time I see it I can’t help but smile, it is perfect and a fantastic reminder to keep on truckin’!

So thank you Maureen for introducing me to such an inspirational phrase πŸ™‚

We’ve done yet more tidying today. Hours and hours of tidying. I spent a while researching pet-safe ways to clean the carpet (birds have sensitive respiratory systems so I worry about the quail); we recently used Shake ‘n’ Vac in our porch to get rid of some really tough mud stains, and it worked well but I wouldn’t use it in a room where my dogs would frequently be, never mind the smaller pets!

I discovered baking powder.

Not only is it supposed to neutralise odours when you sprinkle it on the floor, but you can also mix it with water (or water and vinegar) and scrub at stains too.

I tried both. I used water, vinegar and baking powder to scrub at some stains, and I sprinkled the powder liberally in the dirtiest places. You then have to leave the powder for a few hours before vacuuming it up, or until the scrubbed patch is dry.

The water mix removed the stains really well – surprisingly well. As for getting rid of any smell, I don’t know. I feel like I’ve smelt a musty-carpet smell more since doing it bwahaha! Then again I didn’t do the whole room because we ran out of powder πŸ˜€

I’ve also been on the lookout for a quail poop scoop for quite some time. We bought a kitty litter scoop in, but the gaps are too big – the tiny quail poo just falls through! Today I spotted a fly swatter whilst out in town, and what d’ya know? It works great!

And we also spent some hours emptying some shelves out. I organised this within the past year but my partner (who is asleep with a really bad headache, so I won’t be mean πŸ˜› ) has a habit of shoving things everywhere, so the shelves were a real mess.

I emptied every shelf, sorted the bits into related piles, washed the things down that needed it, and stacked everything again. We found all sorts of pet stuff we’d forgotten we had, including twoΒ bundles of apple & willow chew sticks which are quite expensive for what they are πŸ™‚

Now there is an order, phew!

tidy5

AND it was delivery day!

We got a Zooplus order (new Quest for Raiden, two bottles of salmon oil, and a XXL 42 inch crate) plusΒ our new curtains arrived! They’re very grown up and adult-like btw haha πŸ˜‰

The 42 inch crate is to be used as an extra sleeping area for the pups, and it’s also helpful for Kasper. If he gets over-excited, or if someone turns up unexpectedly, he can take himself to his crate…it works as both a cool down area and his safe place πŸ™‚

Me and Kasper had a wonderful training and play session about an hour ago, it wasΒ so much fun! I haven’t played like that with him in forever πŸ™‚

It was also the first time we’ve had a proper training session in a long time (have I mentioned I love having energy again?!) and I’m amazed at how well he did. He was doing tricks we haven’t done in 12+ months, tricks we’ve only done a few times, he’s started responding to the verbal cue “beg” instead of “can you do it again“, and his impulse control was as outstanding as ever. Woohoo!

Hey look, his first attempts:

Now!

He can hold it for up to 30 seconds too πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Tattoo & tidying!

    • Thank you so much πŸ™‚ I wanted to share the tattoo as soon as it was healed haha, it’s been so helpful.

      The med I’m taking at the moment seems to be keeping the mania at an even keel – I actually feel good! Just need to make sure I don’t climb any higher now πŸ˜‰

      Thank you again xxx

  1. I’ve been on a bit of a tidying kick too where I’m getting annoyed by the mess or disorganised stuff around me so I may be doing a post on this soon as well. I’m glad you’re feeling a bit more yourself and had a fun training session with Kasper he’s such a clever fellow, would love to see more videos of him showing off his tricks πŸ™‚

    • Haha it’s like we’re spring cleaning, only the weather’s extra wintery here! πŸ˜€

      Thank you, it feels good to just be able to *do* things! I really, really need to film a Kasper training session because when we’re training my heart just melts with love haha. He’s so adorable and I see such improvement from when we first adopted him…I do get a little nervous training in front of the camera though and always worry it throws us off a bit! I’ll try get some footage soon, in the day tomorrow hopefully, because he rocked so good tonight πŸ™‚

      Thank you!

  2. I’ve always been pleased with using baking soda when cleaning. And it’s so cheap! I’ve also used white vinegar (liberally) on rugs to remove odors, which was handy when potty training the pup! I just soaked the rug in vinegar and let it air dry. With 24-36 hours, there was no lingering scent!
    Best of luck with your cleaning! It can be cathartic, even if it’s tiresome 😊

    • I’ve heard good things about white vinegar, and have used vinegar in general mixed with water to clean / stop things smelling (was great for our garden in summer), but haven’t really ever used it for cleaning cloth…it was more just finger prints on the wall etc. I might have to try it πŸ™‚

      Thank you, and thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

