Kasper’s crate zone

Moving Kasper’s crate into the living room has worked really well so far.

It sounds like no big deal, shuffling his crate through from another room, but there were quite a lot of things to think about.

1. Would it make Kasper resent his crate more, because there would be times when he was in his crate and we were having fun in the same room as him, possibly with another dog

2. Would it encourage his really annoying barking when he knows we’re taking Zoey out for a walk, because he wants to come with us?

3. Kasper is a big resource guarder. Would he have an issue when he was in his crate with a high value item and one of the other pups got too close?

In actual fact none of these have been an issue.

He did start up the annoying barking once when we’d lost Zoey’s harness, so my partner was stood holding her and I was rushing around trying to find it – pretty damn obvious we were going out for a walk, and hardly the quick, sleek exit we were planning!

Otherwise he hasn’t made a peep; those really awesome Kongs have done a great job at distracting him (yay for that blob of peanut butter in the tip!)

Having the crate in the living room has made him love the crate even more than he already does, and it is SO much easier for me to reward him for making a good choice and taking himself off into his crate to rest.

loving11

He actually had his head down sleeping here, but every time I picked up the camera to get a photo it alerted him.

We’ve moved his crate yet again. Now it is a proper den, with walls on every side but the door. He’s much more out the way here, so he can feel even happier withย high value food toys, and we’ve been able to make the pen (or his ‘chill out zone’) around the crate even bigger.

loving9

It’s a really handy little space, and it means if one of the dog’s are being an arse (there a lot of ways they can be arses, such as Kasper constantly trying to play with Zoey whilst she’s trying to sleep) I can just pop him in his pen. He has his cosy crate to settle in and he can have Kongs, Nylabones, puzzle feeders and antlers with no worry about him needing to resource guard.

loving10

He was chilling in his crate for forty minutes last night, it was SO COOL!

The other great thing is that when he’s finished with a Kong, I can tell him to go get me it and he will pass it to me over the barrier. This is so handy for easy refill, and I can just toss it back in when I’ve re-stuffed it with goodies ๐Ÿ˜€

loving5

“Mum my brother’s just staying in his crate and it’s really boring!”

I only discovered yesterday that the torrential rain and flooding we experienced was due to Storm Eva, which we’ve been referring to as Storm Desmond’s younger, more annoying sister ๐Ÿ˜›

The flooding wasn’t so bad in the end, I don’t think it was even as bad as Storm Desmond.

The houses just down the road from us were hit pretty bad again. I haven’t been out yet today but last time I was out with Zoey none of the roads were flooded, although this poor guy’s garden was almost 3ft deep in places…bless, he tends to it really well and it floods so badly when there’s a lot of rain!

On Zoey’s night walk yesterday we saw a house spurting water. Literally water was just spurting out of a patch of bricks in a house wall, not from a drain or pipe or anything. That was weird.

My parents got the dogs a doggy hamper this year (they make me and my partner a food hamper every Christmas and birthday too!). I won’t post any photos of it just yet, I’ll do it on our next Christmas, but here are the pups trying pigs in blankets ๐Ÿ™‚

Zoey actually swallowed hers whole, so she probably shouldn’t get any more of them…even Kasper, who’s like a vacuum with food, chewed his!

And another update on Zoey. We keep speaking to her potential new owners. Yesterday this was included in a message from them:ย I’m just happy me and my partner could rehome such a beautiful dog and make her feel nothing but love.

It’s all much more real now, and I’ve cried over her a lot…I do think she’s going to be doted on though, which helps ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

3 thoughts on “Kasper’s crate zone

    • Kasper loves frozen Kongs! It’s one of the few ways we can get them to last longer than ten minutes ๐Ÿ˜€

      Unfortunately our other two don’t like frozen Kongs…Zoey ignores them until it melts (seriously?!) and Raiden gets really frustrated haha! I think he’ll really like them when he’s older and more patient though ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

