Clicker training

Zoey hoovered up some shreds of plastic from the floor and so was sick the day before yesterday, poor pup. I wouldn’t mind, but she was the one who put the pieces there when she stole something from under our table and shredded it…she then had to eat the tiny pieces we missed and make herself ill! Doh!

We’re lucky she’s such a lazy pup in general, if it was Kasper who was on shorter walks due to being sick he’d be bouncing off the walls, stealing anything in sight and generally being a pain in the bum!

jan2

“What, me mummy?! Never…”

I’m also in the process of clicker training a 5 month old rabbit we named Iden.

candle3

Introducing Iden, the Lionhead x Mini Lop

We’re working onย a few things, mainly:

  • Him coming when ‘called’ – that is, when I click my fingers! He’s doing really well at this, and now when I snap my fingers he races over 99% of the time…unless of course he is distracted by hay or food, he is a rabbit after all ๐Ÿ˜‰
  • Being comfortable with being touched – he actually came to us pretty tame, but I’m working on getting him ready to be groomed. At the moment he gets a click+treat for me putting a finger to his forehead. At first he got clicked immediately, but now I can hold it there for a few seconds before he’s rewarded ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Litter training – we nailed this, woohoo! He now pee’s only in his litter tray, and does the majority of his poops in there too!ย The peeing was what I really wanted to get in there, seeing as his poops are pretty easy to sweep up.

I’m actually not using a clicker to train him, seeing as I kinda need both hands free. I’m just using a noise to mark him, you know the ‘clip clop’ horse noise that kids do? Yeah, I’m using the clop! ๐Ÿ™‚

At the moment he’s in an indoor rabbit cage, which is far too small for him, as most cages seem to be. We have an XXL dog crate on the way (seriously, it’s huge, even bigger than Kasper’s!), some rubber matting to cushion the metal tray of the dog crate, and a run. I’m hoping we can somehow join them all together.

Kasper and Zoey have met him briefly. Kasper is fine as long as he is caged, the cage doors are shut, and I’m not paying attention to Iden. This is amazing, as Kasper’s prey drive is out of this world…his favourite hobby is chasing rabbits, and he once caught a pigeon out of the air!! However if I pay Iden any attention, Kasper goes crazy jumping at the cage and whining. Zoey’s not too bad, she just gets wildly excited ๐Ÿ™‚

So yes, hello Iden!

gift5

I’m also supposed to have some family members coming up soon; they were supposed to come up on New Year’s day but cancelled. They’re bringing their very large (and largely untrained!) Airedale Terrier up… ๐Ÿ˜€

I met their dog as a puppy to help them out with training him, but they didn’t keep up with it. You can read about it here though – he was a cute pup, although I’m guessing he’s grown some since then! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Hope everyone else is having a great start to the new year!

4 thoughts on “Clicker training

  1. I’ve never chased a bunny, but just let one of those rat-lookin’ things come in my door. Talk about prey drive!!

    Have fun with your peeps!

    • Ohhhh Kasper says you’re missing out!! Not that he gets to chase rabbits anymore, there’re too many farms around here so strictly on lead walks for him ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. Pingback: Dog and Bunny Treats! | Scarlybobs' Blog

  3. Pingback: The sad and the good | Scarlybobs' Blog

Leave a Reply

