The Habitrail Ovo Loft

I’m trying my hardest to focus on doing this review, but it’s proving quite tricky as my mood climbs higher and higher…I may go off topic, ramble, and generally bug people. Apologies in advance πŸ˜‰

So yes. Today my partner snuck out the house when I finally got to sleep and went and picked up a rather large parcel. For some reason the parcel delivery people had dropped it off at the post office in the village over instead of the nearby one, so bless him my partner made an hour-round trip to pick it up πŸ™‚

It was the new mouse cage we ordered over the weekend. It’s made by the Habitrail company and is part of the Ovo series. It’s the Loft cage. I’m not a huge fan of Habitrail cages, but I do like the Ovo’s and have wanted a Loft for years. We finally found one cheap enough πŸ˜€

Here it is:

loft9

It cost Β£35 including delivery, but it is awesome. Like all cages it has some startlingly obvious pro’s and cons.

Good things!

  • The cage is visually very impressive
  • It has great access to the pet/s; both orange side parts slide upwards, and obviously the metal roof lifts off too
  • It comes with a wheel that is actually a decent size and, so far, has been pretty quiet
  • The wheel is attached to a sleeping compartment, which also doubles (triples?) up to being a food bowl too!
loft2

Water bottle is the blue orb to the right

  • It comes with the Ovo water bottle. Now, a lot of people complain that the bottle leaks, what they don’t realise is that it’sΒ supposed to! The bottle was designed so that all animals wouldΒ understand where to access water, so it drips very slowly
  • It can be attached to other cages in the Ovo series, including the Suite and Twist

Bad points!

  • The cage is stated as being great for hamsters and gerbils. It’s not. (I’ll go into this more below)
  • There are no bars to attach hanging toys such as hammocks or ropes from
  • There are no side bars which makes it impossible to use a different wheel other than a flying saucer
  • The bottom has ridges that, if it were inclined, a rodent could latch onto and chew, especially a Syrian!
loft1

Chewable ridges…

  • The measurements online stated this cage was 30cm wide, but due to the peanut design about half the cage is only 20cm wide

All in all I’m VERY happy with the cage (or is that the mania talking?! XD ) We’re using the cage for two female mice, and it’s a decent size for the girls. A lone male mouse would also fit in there.

A Syrian hamster? Nope. The cage is waaay too small for a Syrian, in my humble opinion…the length is okay, but the width makes me feel uncomfortable. I also wouldn’t want to keep gerbils in there, they do far better in a Perfecto style cage where they can have a good 10+ inches of substrate to burrow in.

A dwarf hamster would be fine in this cage size wise, but I’d still be a little concerned about the ridges along the bottom being chewed. I suppose if, like our mice, you know they’re not chewers, a hammie would be okay in there!

Here are some photos of the cage filled with substrate (we use shredded paper for mice) and toys and, eventually, mice! πŸ˜€

loft6

Lorri is black and white with a tan belly, and Hattie (the tiny girl!) is brown and white πŸ™‚

loft7

loft8

I suppose what it all comes down to is: would I recommend this cage to a friend?

For the price, yes. It is a decent size, the mice are enjoying it and it does have some pretty nifty features. I also like that it can be added on to. Good cage, Habitrail, good cage! πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “The Habitrail Ovo Loft

  1. My previous hamster actually chewed through the side of a plastic cage! I woke up one morning, had a nosy at the cage like I do in the morning, and then Ashley was like ‘did you not just see what she’s done?!’ And there was a huge palmsized hole in the front of the cage! (which I just didn’t see!) But she hadn’t escaped, she was fast asleep in bed! We obviously had to buy a new one but we’d only had that one for about two months!

    I do like plastic cages though as it prevents bar chewing. But I’m always on a rant about small animal housing. I’d say 80% of cages I’ve seen are unsuitable. Either escapable, too small, difficult to clean etc. I think most of the outdoor rabbit hutches you see are appalling too. Way too small. Sorry to rant! πŸ™‚

    • Hamsters are such notorious chewers!! We had Puj our Syrian in a Kios cage (really nice big cage) and he started chewing the plastic lip on the corners so will have to be moved out…into what I don’t know as he’s a plastic and bar chewer too, he just chews everything he isn’t supposed to and won’t touch chew toys!

      Rant away haha! πŸ˜‰ I was shopping for mouse cages before I found the Loft so cheap, and was looking specifically for mice cages for the smaller bar spacing. There was one cage that was 25x20cm, and was being sold as suitable for Syrians too!

      Hamster cages, decent ones, are very hard to come by…I’ve seen people keeping a Syrian in one Ovo Suite and it’s just…horrible :/

      It makes me so sad when I see a rabbit spending all its’ time in a 3x2ft hutch…they need a hutch bigger than that AND access to a garden or an indoor / outdoor run!! I was at a pet shop recently and heard the guy telling someone that guinea pigs could live in an 80cm cage… *cringe*

      • I’ve seen alot of people on Instagram make their own Hamster cages, you know using plastic containers etc. Some of them are pretty impressive.

        I had a ‘mouse’ cage a few years ago, with the small bar spacing, and one night my mum was reading in bed and saw something in the corner of her eye. It was my mouse Milton running around her bedroom, so she dived out of bed, caught him and brought him back into my room. I was completely oblivious of all of this until the morning! He had squeezed through the bars and gotten himself down from a 5ft shelf, then travelled to my mums room without being eaten by our two cats! We also found my missing hamster in the kitchen bin once, munching away!

      • Ah, we have made rodent cages out of RUB’s before. Only issue we had was that any ridges in the side and the rodent would gnaw away and be able to chew their way out…seems no cage is safe! πŸ˜›

        It’s amazing how rodents can survive around household pets! We’ve had escaped mice and gerbils survive being in the same room as Kasper and Zoey, and their prey drive is out of this world XD

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ Haha! Kasper has gradually gotten used to all our smaller pets in cages, although we keep all cages on tables out of reach…out of the cage is very different though, he once caught and ate a wild pigeon!!

  2. I have always admired the “habitrail” stuff but never needed any. I did dig an underground dog door and tunnel and a bridge to my roof… Bigger is better? πŸ™‚

    • Ah, that sounds amazing…I wish I was at all handy and could make things; our back yard would be a doggy playground πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

