Fashion show Friday

Zoey’s current harness (an EzyDog Quick Fit) has started rubbing these past few days, leaving her with a rash on her tummy – poor girl!

Today after our appointments we nipped into town and picked her a new harness up from Cosy Dogs. The woman in the shop was great and very helpful. We picked what style we wanted, and went for an ‘X’ shaped one with a band running between her front legs instead of another one similar to the EzyDog Quick Fit.

The great thing about these harnesses is that every part that comes into contact with the dogs’ skin is fleece padded = awesome! ๐Ÿ˜€

harness3

 

There was also a huge range of colours to choose from, and I was torn between the blue, red, purple, pink and green. In the end I opted for pink mainly because, although I used to despise the colour pink, as soon as we adopted Zoey I wanted her dressed in everything pink!

We did some counter-conditioning with Zoey andย the harness (just marking her for sniffing it, then rewarding her for putting her head through the hole the tiniest bit) but I knew we couldn’t have her fully happy with it before she needed to wear it…

Sure enough she wasย utterly miserable when we put it on her. She refused treats and wouldn’t walk, not even when we got outside…even my partner thought this was a little pathetic ๐Ÿ˜›

Thankfully then an awesome thing happened: a cat appeared!

harness5

 

Zoey was so focused on the cat she completely forgot about her harness and, even after the cat was long gone, she walked perfectly normally. Yay! ๐Ÿ™‚

harness6

The harness is also lower down on her throat than the EzyDog Quick Fit, which I like

 

harness11

It looks very comfortable to wear and I love the ‘X’ design on the back

 

harness12

Zoey girl you are too damn adorable! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

We saw lots of ‘friends’ on our walk, and were rushed by an ย overly friendly cow that wanted to say hello (unfortunately I had to scare it into stopping otherwise Zoey would have been overwhelmed), a horse, and we got to see the fast-growing goslings too.

harness9

 

harness7

 

I’d like to say Zoey is pooped after her walk, but…well, she is, but she’s like an overly-tired toddler and is wandering around the living room, panting, looking for things she’s not supposed to have! So far she has found a sock and a Pringles tube, and is highly pleased with herself ๐Ÿ˜‰

I also had my med review today, which went really, really well ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m dropping two of my meds that aren’t working, and reducing the one that gives me problematic side effects from 15mg to 12.5mg. I’ve also been sent away with ‘homework’, and have to have a look at the meds used to treat Bipolar in the UK, and decide which I’d next be willing to try.

This is a very difficult decision!

I’m leaning towards Lamotrigine / Lamictal. The one major scary side effect with this med is a possibly fatal rash called Steven Johnson Syndrome…it affects less than 1 in 1000 people, but it’s still pretty scary and something I need to have a big think about…Hmmm.

Depakote, which the last Dr I saw mentioned, is apparently out because it’s apparentlyย not supposed to be used in women of child-bearing age. It also has some pretty sinister side effects of liver failure, hair loss, tooth loss, weight gain etc. You need regular blood tests on this med.

There’s Carbamazepine / Tegretol, there’s also a chance of ‘THE RASH’ with that too. You need regular blood tests on this med.

Lithium…yeah, I really don’t want to try Lithium. You have to watch the amount of liquids you drink everyday and I would suck at that ๐Ÿ˜› You need regular blood tests (and others I think) on this med.

And Olanzapine / Zyprexa which carries a risk of serious weight gain and diabetes.

So yeah…it’s not an easy choice XD If anyone has experience with any of these meds I would love to hear it, good or bad ๐Ÿ™‚

10 thoughts on “Fashion show Friday

  1. We tried Bert with a harness and he hated it as well. We’ll have to find a cat… Have to admit I put 1/2 tsp brown sugar and a small pinch of salt in his porridge. Hope you find some medication that doesn’t have such drastic side effects!

    • It’s strange isn’t it, Kasper couldn’t care less about wearing a harness! Bert is a lucky boy, I’m ashamed to say that the only ‘human’ food our pups get are left overs or vegetables – rather dull for them!

      Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

      • that’s all the ‘human’ food Bert gets as well – except for the porridge – and that’s because I always make it for myself anyway. I have noticed that it seems to do dogs quite a bit of good…

  2. Laughing at Zoey in the harness. Sometimes you’ve just got to shake your head!

    The med thing is a bit of a dilemma. I have chronic pain, and have similar problems with meds.
    I’ve found a good combination now, and mostly live a normal life. The trade off is opiate addiction and weight gain.
    Being fat really doesn’t help the original problem of knee pain!
    I get your problem, dealing with doctors and their potions, it’s dealing with the devil.
    Hope you find something that works for you, and the trade off isn’t so bad.

    • Honestly, she is the wussiest dog I know! ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m glad you’ve found a working combination with meds…it is such a balancing act, and a lot of Dr’s don’t seem to understand what an impact such side effects can have on your life.

      Thank you muchly ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Agreed. Most completely lack empathy. If they had to take half the rubbish they prescribed, they wouldnt be so blase about the awful side effects then.

    • Thanks, we’re loving it so far ๐Ÿ˜€ Only negative for me is that it’s slightly harder to put on than the old one, which our harness-hating dog doesn’t appreciate XD

  3. Love the harness — would like to find a similar one for C-Dog. Best of luck with the meds. I hope you find just the right one for you.

    • Thank you ๐Ÿ˜€

      I think Trixie do a dog harness that’s very similar if you are looking for that style ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

