Ugh – tick number two…

I know, right?!

Yep, we found ANOTHER tick on Kasper! Aw I felt so sorry for him, having to go through all that hassle again ๐Ÿ˜ฆ And it was right on his cheek too!

This meant I had to restrain him, quite tightly, and try prevent him from moving. Anybody who knows what a nervous, anxious boy Kasper is would assume (as we did) that this would go terribly…nope, he didย AWESOME!! ๐Ÿ˜€

I held his head still for about 15 seconds at a time, then we had a break and he got showered with treats. We couldn’t feed him treats whilst restraining him as it meant he moved his head too much.ย He was a little uncomfortable, sure, but coped marvelously, and we tried to remain happy and jovial throughout it all. This happened maybe four times before we had the tick off, and drowned it in a cup of vodka just like the other one!

My poor baby!! So, does anyone have experience getting their dogs used to being restrained?

My plan of action is this:

  1. Gently hold Kasper’s head forย less than a second; release with a “yes!” and reward with high value treat
  2. Gradually increase the amount of time I’m restraining his head over a period of weeks (I do not want to rush this!)
  3. Gradually increase how tightly I am restraining his head
  4. Introduce my partner into the mix; this is the part I am struggling with.

I’m pretty sure Kasper will do great at restraint trainingย because he knows it isn’t real.

Once my partner gets added to the situation, and is actually fiddling with Kasper (lifting his ear, parting his fur etc) I don’t think he will be as comfortable anymore. Is this something that will come with time? Obviously we will move the time we are restraining him right back down to a few seconds once my partner is introduced.

Sheesh, this tick thing is stressful! ๐Ÿ™‚

Oh, I have something that will make you laugh – it did us anyway! Okay, so we left the room for two minutes tops today, and the dogs were unsupervised. This isn’t an unusual thing to happen; the dogs are often left alone in the room for a minute or two, and it’s rare anything untoward happens. Well, what did we return to?

This!!

Image

 

Bwahahahaha!!! XD

The funniest thing was that when we came in, he was laying on the couch as if nothing at all had happened, besides the fact he had a bin lid hanging around his neck!!

The lid is from their toy bin; apparently Kasper decided he wanted a toy! ๐Ÿ™‚

This is the last blog you’ll be getting from us in a while; tomorrow is the big move and we haven’t even got the ball rolling for internet at our next house yet!

12 thoughts on “Ugh – tick number two…

  1. reminds of the time one of our Staffords tried to chase a neighbours through our cat door. She ended up with a frame also – and we had to fix the door.

  2. I guess bugs of a feather… Good luck.

    Kasper looks so hysterically innocent with that bin lid around his neck. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Wishing the best tomorrow and hope you get back online soon.

    • Haha I know, he has the innocent look down huh?! I would’ve almost pinned the blame on Zoey if it wasn’t for the lid around his neck hahaha ๐Ÿ˜›

      Thank you, I’ll ‘speak’ to you soon from the new house! ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Good luck moving!

    I think the slowly working up to it is a great idea, especially if ticks are going to be an issue this season. It will also teach him that getting in that position doesn’t always mean a tick removal, just general petting and then a treat.

    • Thanks! We need all the luck we can get :p

      I was thinking of adding a word such as ‘hold’ too, once Kasper is comfortable being restrained, so he knows what is coming / what to expect.

  4. Rather than teaching mine to be comfortable really restrained I’ve taught them to hold still if I put a hand on each side of the head and tell them to keep still. Rupert used to panic terribly if properly restrained but was perfectly happy with this and it’s just something I carried on with Spencer. We’ve easily done things like ear drops, eye drops, tick removal, applying flea/tick repellent and laser treatment on an injured paw with this minimal restraint. Think perhaps it’s less stressful for them as they’re not being forced to comply but are simply following a known cue if that makes sense.

    Ticks are a nightmare here. Without chemical repellent I can easily have to remove 20 or more from Spen after a walk. Even with the chemicals we remove them on a daily basis in summer.

    Pic reminds me of the time we came home to find the rubbish strewn all over the kitchen floor and our collie lying there quietly and looking perfectly innocent with the bin lid around his neck.

    • Hahaha, dogs are great at the ‘I’m innocent’ look! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Oh jeez I can’t imagine living somewhere with so many ticks – I’m scared enough here haha! Do you have any tips for finding them on the dog? We kinda struggle with Kasper because he has long, dark fur so any tips would be awesome! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Hmm, that’s interesting, re: teaching the dog to stay still. How did you go about doing that, did you just reward for being still for a short amount of time, then gradually build it up and add a cue word? I will definitely be attemtping to do that, thanks! ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. I’ve nominated YOU for a Liebster Award! Please see my site for the details. I really do enjoy reading your blog posts and always look forward to seeing what you have to say — and I think that makes you worthy of this blogging award!

  6. Pingback: TWO ticks for Raiden! | Scarlybobs' Blog

Leave a Reply

