A Mothers’ Day Walk

Astonishingly my pups didn’t get me any Mothers’ Day gifts, ungrateful little furballs!! My partner says they are treating me to a takeaway this evening…well okay, it doesn’t get much better than that πŸ˜‰

This morning we were in such a crazy rush that Zoey only got a half an hour walk before we had to leave to go to my partners’ parents’ house. So, upon returning, Zoey got aΒ much longer walk and, as it has been such a beautiful day today, I took my camera along as well.

Once we had Zoey all strapped into her harness she was eager to be off. Excuse the concerned expression on her face, she is not entirely 100% happy with getting her lead put on either, so may look a little anxious although she has come a long way from the trembling wreck she used to be!

Image

 

I was forced to get another snap of the daffies in the village…they’re justΒ so beautiful!

Image

 

Zoey had a bit of a terrifying ordeal in the forest when a branch fell from a tree and made a rather loud rustling noise. She started and sprinted to the end of the lead in horror, but after a few chuckles and encouragement she made her way over for a closer look and decided everything was actually okay πŸ˜‰

Image

 

The clocks changed today, so despite the fact that it was 6:30pm when we were out the sun was still shining and the birds were still tweeting. I think I’m rather looking forward to summer, even if I have already been complaining about the weather being too warm!! πŸ˜€

Image

 

I love these photos of my partner walking Zoey, especially the one where he is knelt down and she is gazing up at him…she really is a daddy’s girl at heart, whereas Kasper is a total mummy’s boy! ^__^

Image

 

Image

 

Big Staffie grin! πŸ˜€

Image

 

And despite the heat we didn’t need to take a bottle of water as almost exactly halfway through the walk there is a water trough which Zoey has recently discovered. She needed a bit of help understanding where the water was the first time (she’s too little to reach it without the steps!) but headed straight on over for a drink today.

Image

 

And some other *great* news that we found out recently. Pets At Home (probably the biggest pet shop chain in the UK) have recently announced that they are withdrawing all Cesar Millan books from their shops, and will no longer be selling them online or in store. Brilliant news! A big thank you from us and our dogs πŸ™‚

If you want to know why I’m not a Cesar Millan fan, I really don’t agree with his training methods. Yes, he does have some good ideas, namely that you need to be calm around dogs and that they require exercise…howeverΒ I don’t like that he uses punishment’, I don’t like the little kicks (sorry, “taps”) that he does to the dogs, uses ‘alpha rolls, and I hate that he relies on dominance theory when that has been scientifically debunked…I hate the whole “leader of the pack” or “alpha” bull****.

For more info on why dominance theory is outdated, check out this post from a while ago πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “A Mothers’ Day Walk

  1. Thanks for liking my page! Really liking this blog so far! I LOVE what you siad about Cesar Milan and dominance theory…. I’m a apprentice dog trainer and although I am new, I’ve come to realize that shit just doesn’t work…. I’ve had other trainers and vets tell me the same thing. The sad part is I used to really believe Cesar’s way worked well, but that was back when I was 12 and there were no other resources and hands on experience for me to learn from. After dealing with high energy working dogs, I’ve realized that if I did half the physical Alpha punishment shit that Cesar does, I would get bit straight up.

    • Thank you πŸ™‚

      Yes, Cesar’s methods are just plain dangerous…it’s a shame he has such a big personality and so many followers that just keep spreading alpha / dominance theory…it’s no surprise that Cesar gets bitten by the dogs he works with as often as he does :/

Leave a Reply

