Oh hai sun!

Blue skies and happy days!

Well, after a day of almost constant rain (we had to wait until 8pm to take Zoey out, when the rain had finally stopped!) it looks like the sun has returned to us again.

As a result we took Zoey on a huge walk around the forest and she had a grand old time. It was *very* muddy, my feet were slipping and sliding all over the place, and there were several times when I was sure I was gonna land on my rear, but somehow managed to keep my footing πŸ™‚

Image

Zoey looking far too cute

Zoey didn’t mind the mud at all, as usual. I really like that she enjoys mud and puddles, and find it odd to remember what she was like as a pup, as she absolutely detested anything wet or muddy! Seriously, for the first month of walking her we had to carry her over even slightly damp ground as she just refused to move!! XD

Image

Mud, mud and more mud!

Image

Can you tell it’s been raining?!

All the daffodils are out everywhere in the village. I love daffodils, maybe because it always reminds me about making one from an egg box in primary school…ah, such simpler times! πŸ˜€

Image

I did a lot of training with the pups last night. I managed to catch the elusive six leg weave on camera with Zoey; I still haven’t pushed her any further than that, although I’m sure she’s capable. I’m going to start working on fading the hand signal next, so eventually she should be able to weave through my legs just by me shifting my body slightly to the left or right. She also does a “tall” (jump) in the video…see her taking off? I swear her feet have springs in them…

Please excuse how dark the video is, and my odd socks! Matching socks are a Β rarity in this house! πŸ˜€

And I actually (finally) worked on leg weaves with Kasper, only to find out he had almost completely forgotten how to do them as we hadn’t practiced in so long 😦 😦 😦

So we started from the very beginning…anybody who is interested in teaching their dogs how to leg weave, this is how I do it πŸ™‚ I use a treat to lure them through my legs, then toss the treat ahead so they don’t try coming back through the legs the same way, but actually go around the leg and back to the front. Once the dog has gotten used to going through the leg on each side, I see if they’re ready for a double leg weave and, if they manage it, they get a handful of treats as oppose to just one or two πŸ™‚

In the video Kasper is working for kibble; he’s highly food motivated so kibble stops him from getting over-excited, and seeing as he’s plump (okay so he’s not really…), the less treats the better!!

Once Kasper was away in his crate Zoey got a ‘rainbow’ of kibble as her final meal of the day. We just switched kibble to one with a higher meat content (20% to 35%) and, even though it’s salmon flavour and Zoey hated her JWB fish kibble as a puppy, they’re both loving it. Funnily enough the ‘rainbow’ meal was the first one of the new kibble that Zoey didn’t finish.

Image

Β 

Image

4 thoughts on “Oh hai sun!

    • Bwahahaha now that’s something I’d love to see!! πŸ˜€

      You could do front step leg weaves, but leave your foot hovering in the air so Eko could fit through. I’ve seen some people do that with taller dogs.

  1. As a desert dweller your water continues to amaze me. No wonder it is so green there.

    Zoe is taller than I imagined. A lovely size.

    My satellite internet is misbehaving (the price of being rural American) so no vids for me today… πŸ˜‰

    Love your blog and Stitch sends greetings to Zoe and Kasper.

    • We do get a lot of rain…our weather changes with a click of the fingers too; one minute it can be beautifully sunny and the next hail stones the size of your head are falling from the sky! πŸ˜€

      You know, two people have recently commented that Zoey has gotten bigger. I wonder if she has grown some?

      Thank you πŸ™‚ Kasper and Zoey send waggy tails and nose licks to Stitch!

Leave a Reply

